DEVELOPING THE ERROR PROJECT

For the “Error” project I initially wanted to explore the notion of human error. The idea of human error can be understood in two ways, the first of which being external. I felt that external human error can be identified through the damages that we have caused to the world around us. We currently find ourselves in the midst of a serious environmental crisis that we caused by our mindless CO2 emissions and our reckless use of plastics.

The second form of human error is internal. The internal errors that we face as humans can come in the form of depression, anxiety or addiction. In recent years there has been a drastic rise in poor mental health amongst young people. I feel like these mental health issues can be considered errors because they are almost like malfunctions in the brain which cause our bodies and minds to work less effectively. Ultimately, I chose to focus my project on the idea of internal human error. I made this decision as I felt that I would be able to create a far more personal final piece.

As part of my early research I interviewed a close friend about his personal struggles with depression. During the short interview, my close friend discussed how making and listening to music became his best coping mechanism.

My next steps within this project will be to continue my research into mental health as well as starting to develop design ideas for my final piece.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started